top of page

The Importance of Catch-Up Day





Last weekend, my Husband was off from work for a 4-day weekend! It was AMAZING!! Anytime Danny gets some extra time at home, is so wonderful!! I miss him muches & bunches when he is away at work. Those are some long hours without my Hubby!! Deep sigh.


I've been using my Mondays to play "catch up" from our weekends. It helps set the tone for the week ahead. I can use Monday to get things back in their place, back on track, & just start our week off jumping back into our routine. Apparently, I've learned this week, it makes a HUGE difference when we DON'T get a chance to do our "catch up" day!! To make matters "worse"...Tuesday I had an appointment that ran VERY long!! Like, 6 hours long...so, yeah...that was the majority of my day, right!?!?! Needless to say, did NOT get to play "catch up" on Tuesday either! Wednesday was a wash as well!! Deep sigh. It took me until FRIDAY to just get my dishes caught up!! UGH!! I felt absolutely behind all week long!! I could not find my groove since I missed out on my Monday cleaning. I've felt "off" & in truth, disappointed in myself for not being able to get done what needed done...or what I wanted to get done.


My week before went quite smoothly! I was positively pleased with how the whole week went when it came to my homemaking routine! We got ahead of a lot of things around here...which felt STUPENDOUS!! I was able to get myself out of my jammies & dressed EVERY day before Danny got home! We had dinner together at the table EVERY single night!! It was nice. I felt deeply proud of myself, for sure!


But...it didn't last. In true fashion of how life works, it gives you a taste of what success feels like...then BAM, here's an obstacle to mess you all up, a wrench thrown into your gears...so you feel like you have just failed at everything! That your decision to do something new, something different was just a stupid idea. It tries to convince you that it's too hard...just not for you...could never work for your life & how you do things. Deep sigh. Life can be, without reservation, brutal when you are trying to make changes. That birthday party that shows up right after you start your diet...like that!! It's OK though. A new week has started. Another chance to do better. Fingers are crossed.

 

Last week I did come across this video by.... Inspired by Nikki ... Clean With Me & Timeless Homemaking


Imagine my surprise, at the end of my week of failing because I missed my "catch up" day, this lovely lady talks about how important it is to make yourself a 1 day a week that you really focus on a whole house clean up...basically my "catch up" day!! Plus, she talk about how you need to REALLY commit to this day!! Like, put it on the calendar as "this day is set...no exceptions...well, maybe for emergencies ONLY!!". She is SO much more elegant at describing it that I am here! I've went ahead and added to my calendar on my phone, "Catch Up Cleaning Day", in a bright orange, to every Monday from this upcoming Monday to infinity. It's THAT important that it deserves a place in my brain {otherwise known as my calendar}!! So...what happens the next time Danny is off work on a Monday?? With it being marked on the calendar, I won't make plans on the following Tuesday, hopefully!! That way I can use TUESDAY as my Monday, and not feel so lost & behind for that week!! I will be able to keep up with my dishes & laundry. And, most important...won't feel like I somehow failed the whole week!!

 

If you'd like to see more videos by Inspired by Nikki... you can find them HERE!! She is Christian based, just FYI. I do enjoy her videos very much. They inspire me to get my own act together & bring more beauty into my home for myself, my Husband, & my family!

 

Want to know when I post something new on Beautiful Things in Humble Places?? Want to find out BEFORE I post about it on social media?? Then you need to become a subscriber!! CLICK HERE to become part of our community!!


 

WOULD LOVE TO HEAR FROM YOU!!

Comment below...

Do you have a "Cleaning Catch Up Day", or just a set day each week to do the bulk of your cleaning?? What day works best for you?? What do you do if something interrupts that day, and you just can't do what you need to??


<3 <3 <3

Sending LOVE & LIGHT to All!!


IMG_20190419_173524_859_edited_edited.jp

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

We are all told, “live your life to the fullest”; I am here to do just that. Beautiful Things in Humble Places serves as a vessel to project my passions, and clue in my loyal readers as to what inspires me in this crazy world. So, sit back, relax, and read on.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
bottom of page